Live on Audible

For the last few months, I’ve been working with a recording artist from ACX to prepare an audio book option for The ABC’s of Dee. This was my first time using ACX so I had no idea what to expect.

At first, I thought, well, I’m an actor, I can record it myself. I even bought a nice shiny mic. Then I realized: I have no idea what I’m doing. Which is often the case where I’m concerned. Sure, I may have the acting chops to read my own book but did I have audio editing equipment and knowledge to cut the track together? Did I have a sound proof room and hours of recording time to spare? Um, no. No, I did not.

Nor did I have the piles of cash needed to hire a narrator up front. Which left the Royalty Split option. This means that you, as the author, get half of all the sales (after ACX’s cut) and the narrator gets the other half. They do the work without pay, with the promise of royalty payments in the future. Sounds GREAT from a poor author’s perspective, but not so ideal for a narrator’s. Think about it: they have to devote weeks to recording/editing your work without seeing a dime and hope that it sells once it’s done. Naturally, there aren’t as many narrators willing to take that option as I learned when the auditions for Dee trickled in. I listened to auditions for months, more horrified by each one that came in. My favorite was a woman in her late 60’s that sounded like a sweet grandmother even while reading the foul things that come out of Dee’s mouth. Priceless, but not so great for this book. I was starting to lose hope.

At long last, I found a narrator who had risen above the others. We chatted, made arrangements, and a few months later, an audio book was born.

I hope you enjoy!

The ABC's of Dee - Audio book cover

https://amzn.com/B01GW5Q5GO

 

Leave a Reply

